Frequently Asked Questions


Where does UpNote store my data?

UpNote is designed to work reliably without having to sign up for an account. If you do not login, your notes only stays locally in your device. If you want to sync your notes across all devices, you can sign up for an account, and UpNote will stores your notes on a central server so that the notes can be synced to other devices. For more information on your data privacy, please read our Privacy Policy.

How do I sync my notes?

To sync your notes across devices, you need to log in or create an UpNote account on your device. Your notes will be automatically and instantly synced.

How do I organize my notes?

UpNote is designed to help you organize your notes easily and conveniently. You may organize your notes into notebooks. You may keep your important notes on top of the notebook by pinning your notes to top. Or you may also bookmark your notes, which will appear at the side bar for quick navigation.

How do I delete my notes

You can just select your notes and move it to trash. If you want to permanently delete your notes, you can do so by going to trash and selectively delete the notes from there. If you want to delete everything in trash, you can click on Empty Trash button. Your notes will then be delelely permanently on the server.

How do I undo deleting my notes?

If you have moved the notes to trash, you can undo it by going to trash and restore the notes. The restored notes will go back to the notebooks they belonged to. If you have permanently deleted your notes in trash, there is no way to recover back the notes.

How do I change my email or password?

You may change your email or password any time by going to settings screen and navigating to the account section. For security reason, changing your email and password may log you out of other devices where you will need to re-login with the new email and password.

Do I need to verify my email address?

Verifying your email address will help secure your account. This will prevent others from using your email to register for an account and help to recover your account if you accidentally forget the password.

Can I lock my note app?

We offer passcode lock as a premium feature. On mobile, you can set a passcode on the settings screen. When enabled, you will need to enter your passcode every time you open the app. On desktop, you can lock the app by clicking the lock icon on the top right of the note window and unlock by your login password.

How can I get UpNote premium?

You may purchase premium on Mac or iOS app. Subscribing on one device will cover all your devices. Thank you in advance for supporting us to make an awesome app!

I have suggestions for improvement, how can I contact UpNote?

If you have any question or suggestion, please email us at support@getupnote.com. We would love to hear from you.